Leadership & Staff

Leadership & Staff


ILTA leadership represents title professionals from various backgrounds and interests. With the shared vision of elevating the title industry, ILTA seeks to have Officers, Board of Governors, and Staff that are reflective of its membership.
 
2021 ILTA Officers
President
Elizabeth J. Wysong Berg, ITP, NTP

FNF
  elizabeth.berg@fnf.com

President-Elect
David Smessaert

Metropolitan Title of Indiana
  dsmessaert@metrotci.com

Vice-President
Kyle Sommers

Pulaski County Abstract Company, Inc.
  kylepcatitle@centurylink.net

Secretary/Treasurer
Michael Schmitz

Monument Title Insurance Company
  mschmitz@mticllc.com

Immediate Past President
Kurt Laker

Total Title, LLC
  klaker@doylefoutty.com

 
2021 ILTA Board of Governors
Jessica Dunn McAlpin

Chicago Title
Commonwealth Land
  jessica.mcalpin@fnf.com

Scott Kraud

Cass County Title Company, Inc.
  skraud@casstitle.com

Senior Underwriting Counsel
Laura L. Hardy

First American Title Insurance Company
  lhardy@firstam.com

Senior Agency Sales Representative
Brandi L. Halcomb

Indiana Agency Services
Stewart Title Guaranty Company
  bhalcomb@stewart.com

 
ILTA Staff
Executive Director
Bethany Paden

Indiana Land Title Association
  admin@indianalandtitle.org

Government Affairs Consultant
Charlie Hiltunen, III

Third House Advocacy
  chiltunen@me.com



What is ILTA?

A lot has changed in our industry, but our strong commitment to our members remains the same. Since its formation in 1907, the Indiana Land Title Association has worked to protect the land title industry in Indiana. Amid the changing regulations and the ups and downs of the market, ILTA has stood by its members to offer high-quality education, networking opportunities, and legislative advocacy. We stand for the highest principles of professionalism and consumer protection, advocating for the safe and efficient transfer of real property. A home is likely the largest investment any individual will make in his or her lifetime, and by ensuring accurate searches, promoting fair and professional closings, and supporting important insurance coverages, ILTA protects Indiana consumers' property rights.